Honoring The Best:

ASTA Industry Awards

As part of our mission to promote excellence within the industry, every year, ASTA presents its prestigious awards to recognize professionals who make lasting contributions to the travel industry and exhibit extraordinary support for the travel agency community.

These awards give us a chance to show appreciation for the efforts of individuals and companies that go above and beyond in supporting ASTA’s mission to advance professionalism, education and advocacy for our industry and the traveling public. Awards fall into three main categories: supplier awards, advocacy awards, and membership awards. 


    Advocacy Award Winners

    ASTA advocates on behalf of the travel agency community at all levels of government, within the industry, and before the traveling public. Our success is due in large part to the active involvement and leadership of our members and chapters and to members of Congress who have become advocates for our causes.

    Every year, at ASTA’s black-tie Advocacy Dinner during our Global Convention and during our annual ASTA Legislative Day, we honor a select group of members and U.S. Senators and Representatives who have exhibited exceptional support and leadership for our initiatives. 

    • Lifetime Achievement Award 2021

      Richard Fain, Chairman & CEO, Royal Caribbean Group

    • Chapter Advocacy Award

      ASTA Greater Houston Chapter

    • Paul Ruden Industry Ambassador Award

      Matthew Upchurch, CEO and Chairman of Virtuoso

    • Barbara O’Hara Advocacy Award

      Vanessa McGovern, co-founder and Chief Sales & Marketing Officer, Gifted Travel Network (GTN)


    Membership Award Winners

    ASTA relies on dedicated member-volunteers to accomplish its goals. This is true at the national level as well as the chapter level, where both domestic and international chapters help members connect locally and act as a link to ASTA’s national and global initiatives.

    Membership awards recognize the superstar commitment of top ASTA member chapters, as well as individual members, chapter leaders, and travel agency host, consortia and franchise organizations that work to keep the travel agency community strong and show the greatest support for ASTA’s mission.

    • Host Agency of the Year

      Avoya Travel Network

    • Member Service Award

      Hope Wallace, ADA Travel & Dave Hershberger, Prestige Travel Leaders Inc.

    • Regional Consortium of the Year

      MAST Travel Network

    • Robert Duglin Chapter Excellence Award

      ASTA Central PA Chapter

    • Travel Advisor of the Year

      Velia Kennedy, Modern Family Travel LLC

    • Consortium Partner of the Year

      Co-winners - Signature Travel Network & Virtuoso

    • President's Travel Advisor Leadership Award

      Jean Paugh, All About You Travel Unlimited

    • Edouard Jean Chapter on the Rise Award

      ASTA Greater New Orleans Chapter

    • George “Eddie” Woodham Chapter President of the Year Award

      Senora Kelly, ASTA Missouri Kansas Chapter President

    • ASTA Regional Director of the Year

      Southeast Regional Director, Shelly Phillips


    Supplier Award Winners

    Our Supplier Awards are designed to recognize companies and individuals who demonstrate a sustained and consistent commitment to ASTA and the travel agency community. These coveted awards are presented to the top supplier in more than a dozen categories, from travel insurance to tour operator.

    In addition, a single individual who has dedicated their time, energy and career to the agency community is selected each year as the “Partner Representative of the Year.” The companies who are selected for these awards understand and value of the travel agency distribution model and their policies reflect this understanding. 

    • Partner Company of the Year


    • Partner Representative of the Year

      Kristin Karst, Co-Founder and Executive Vice President, AmaWaterways

    • Airline Partner of the Year

      Delta Air Lines

    • Transportation Partner of the Year

      Enterprise, National and Alamo

    • GDS Partner of the Year

      Sabre Corporation

    • Hotel Partner of the Year

      Marriott International

    • Ocean Cruise Line Partner of the Year

      Royal Caribbean International

    • River Cruise Line Partner of the Year


    • Tour Operator Partner of the Year

      Globus Family of Brands

    • Travel Insurance Partner of the Year

      Allianz Partners

    • North American Destination Partner of the Year

      Hawai'i Visitors & Convention Bureau

    • International Destination Partner of the Year

      The Bahamas Ministry of Tourism

    • Supplier Medal of Excellence

      Vicki Freed, Senior Vice President of Sales and Trade Support, Royal Caribbean International

Learn More About Our Awards:

Frequently Asked Questions

The selection process varies by award.

Supplier awards are given in recognition of a company or individual’s involvement with ASTA and support for the travel advisor community and voted on by the ASTA membership via on-line ballot.

Membership awards are based on involvement with the Society and selected by staff, members and/or chapter leadership, depending on the award.

Advocacy awards are given in recognition of work done on behalf of the industry and selected by staff, members and/or chapter leadership, depending on the award.

Our Industry Awards are presented at the annual ASTA Global Convention, our Showcase events as well as during ASTA Legislative Day.

We have added new awards over the years, but the basic concept of promoting excellence and recognizing those who make lasting contributions to the Society and to the travel agency community remains at the core of our industry awards program. 

Our most recent addition is the Robert L. Duglin Chapter Excellence Award, an annual award that recognizes the chapter that best exemplifies the special qualities of conscientiousness, community building, volunteerism, and overall excellence exhibited by our long-serving ASTA member/volunteer and then staffer Robert L. Duglin.

American Society of Travel Advisors

123 N Pitt St, Ste 400, Alexandria, VA 22314 U.S.A.

Contact Us