ASTA Awards

The Promotion of Excellence

ASTAAs one of the travel industry's premier organizations, ASTA strives to promote excellence within the trade. To that end, ASTA presents several awards to recognize those professionals who make lasting contributions to the travel industry.


2019 Awards_____________________________________________________

Supplier Awards

Supplier Awards recognize industry suppliers who demonstrate a willingness and desire to partner with agencies and reward their travel advisor sales force accordingly.

Supplier Partner of the Year Award recognizes a supplier company who has shown outstanding support and commitment to ASTA and the agency community.  

Supplier Representative of the Year recognizes a supplier company representative (individual) who has dedicated their time, energy and career to the agency community.

Individual supplier awards: Given to companies that best support the advisor community, as voted on by the ASTA membership.

  • Airline Partner of the Year: American Airlines
  •  Supplier Partner of the Year: AmaWaterways
  • Supplier Representative of the Year: Vicki
  • Transportation Partner of the Year: Enterprise Holdings
  • GDS Partner of the Year: Sabre
  • Hotel Partner of the Year: Marriott International
  • Cruise Line Partner of the Year: AmaWaterways
  • Tour Operator Partner of the Year: The Travel Corporation
  • Travel Insurance Partner of the Year: AIG – The Travel Guard Insurance.
  • North American Destination Partner of the Year: The Hawaiian Islands.
  • International Destination Partner of the Year: Greek National Tourist Office Visitors
  • Technology & Transaction Partner of the Year: Airlines Reporting Corporation
  • Paul Ruden Award: Denise Jackson

Supplier Partner of the YearSupplier Representative of the Year
AmaWaterways  Vicki Freed, Royal Caribbean International

Paul Ruden Award  Barbara O’Hara Advocacy Award
 Denise Jackson, Balboa Travel  Brian Chapin, Ensemble Travel Group

 Barbara O’Hara Advocacy Award
 Toni Lanotle-Day  Brian Chapin, Toni Lanotte-day

Partnership awards were also given to ASTA members, chapters and partner organizations:

  • Susan D. Tanzman Inspiration Award: Jenn Lee, Travel Planners International
  • Consortia Partner of the Year: Ensemble
  • Host Agency of the Year: Travel Planners International
  • Host Agency of the Year: Nexion Travel GroupHoldings
  • Chapter of the Year: Great Lakes
  • Chapter on the Rise: Greater Seattle
  • International Chapter of the Year: Myanmar
  •  International Chapter President of the Year: Kyaw Bohne Naing National Tourist Office Visitors
Susan D. Tanzman Inspiration Award Consortia Partner of the Year
Jenn Lee, Travel Planners International  Ensemble 

Host Agency of the Year
Nexion Travel Group Travel Planners International 

 Chapter of the Year Chapter on the Rise
Great Lakes  Greater Seattle 

International Chapter of the Year International Chapter President of the Year
Myanmar Kyaw Bohne Naing National Tourist Office Visitors


All ASTA Awards_____________________________________________________

Extra Mile Award (Travel Advisor of the Year) Given to a travel advisor who has gone the extra mile in the last 12 months to provide exceptional service for a client in a new and creative way that goes above and beyond the normal course of business. 

Young Professional Award is award intended to recognize the efforts of an outstanding young travel professional.

Barbara O'Hara Advocacy Award is given to ASTA members who have made the most significant contributions in advocating for the interests of the travel agency community before federal, state and/or local governmental authorities.

Chapter Advocacy Award is for the Chapter that has gone above and beyond in its support of ASTA’s advocacy efforts, including ASTAPAC fundraising, grassroots lobbying and new member recruitment.

Chapter of the Year Award is for the ASTA chapters that have led the pack in terms of meetings, events, member recruitment, engagement, retention and community involvement.

Travel Journalist of the Year Award this award honors extraordinary journalistic achievement in the field of travel. ASTA travel advisor and journalist Melva C. Pederson, whose spirited writing articulated the travel advisor point of view and the evolution of the travel advisor profession, inspired it.

Supplier Member Award recognizes a person or company whose contributions to travel have positively impacted the travel agency community.

Travel Hall of Fame Award recognizes and honors individuals whose careers have made an enduring impact on the development and expansion of the travel and tourism industry.

Lifetime Achievement Award presented periodically to honor a travel industry luminary whose creativity, dedication and inspiration have advanced the travel and tourism industry.